Finswimming

Finswimming

In this article you will get to know the sport of finswimming. This is the fastest form of human locomotion (without a motor) in the water. You only need your own muscle power and a monofin to move around. As a result, the propulsion is approx. 12-15 times greater than with classic swimming. The fastest swimmers can reach a top speed of up to 3 meters per second.

History and future

The origins of finswimming can be found in the physical training of combat divers. The first European Championships were held at the end of the 1960s. The extended stereo fins that the combat divers also used were still used here. From the 1972 European Championships onwards, the first athletes also competed with a monofin. As a result, the crawl swimming technique was replaced by the faster and more aesthetic dolphin movement.

Although finswimming has been recognized as an Olympic discipline by the IOC since 1986, it has not yet been included in the Olympic Games programme. The low level of awareness will be one of the reasons. Nevertheless, numerous national and international competitions are held. If the popularity of the sport can be further increased, it should be possible to include it in the Olympic program.

The competition

There are two different disciplines. Dive 50m under water while holding your breath. The current world record on this course is 0:13.70 min. The longer distances of 100m, 400m and 800m are completed with the smallest possible compressed air cylinders.

As in classic swimming, competitions over 50m, 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m and 1,500m are held on the surface of the water. German finswimmers are organized in the Verband Deutscher Sporttaucher e.V. and practice the sport on an amateur basis. In other nations (Russia, Ukraine, China, Korea, Greece and Italy), finswimming has now become a professional sport. Over the last 20-30 years, the popularity of the sport has steadily increased. Finswimming is now practiced as a competitive sport in more than 40 nations worldwide.

Physical requirements

A very high effort of the torso and legs is necessary to move the large propulsion surface of the monofin dynamically, rhythmically and quickly. Learning the correct dolphin swimming technique requires a high level of coordination. In addition, snorkels or compressed air diving equipment must be used correctly. To keep arm and body movements dynamic, you need a lot of strength and flexibility in your torso, shoulders and arms at the same time. High levels of exertion with held breath and maximum muscle work at the same time require a psychological willingness to exert themselves on the part of the athlete.

National successes and records

Annett Lopez from Tauchsportclub Marzahn e.V. was honored in the “Adults” category at the 2023 Sports Awards in Marzahn-Hellersdorf. She won 2x gold, 2x silver and 1x bronze at the 2023 Masters World Championships.

Other German finswimmers are also internationally successful. Johanna Schikora from Tauchclub fez e.V. in Berlin holds the women’s European records for 800m and 1500m on the surface. The men’s European records for 50m and 100m on the surface and 100m underwater were set by Max Poschart from SC DHfK Leipzig. Justus Mörstedt from SC DHfK Leipzig holds the world record in the men’s 200m underwater.

More moving news

Outreach Samstag Parcours

Outreach Saturday course

Come along to the Outreach Saturday course from 3-8pm at the Kerschensteiner School in Berlin! • Discover the world of parcours, freerunning and tricking in a safe and supportive environment.

familiensportsonntage

Family Sports Sundays

Sport, games and fun for families with children aged 3 – 12 years.•Location:•Sporthalle Wolfgang-Amadeus-Mozart-Schule, Cottbusser Straße 23-25, 12627 Berlin•(The entrance to the sports hall is located opposite Senftenberger Straße 37)•Contact:•Phone:

Tischtennis Nachmittag

Table tennis afternoon

No previous knowledge required!The most important thing: bring a desire to play and a good mood!When? tuesdays 3pm – 4.30pmMeeting place? At the table tennis table at KarlHo (neighborhood project

Familiensportsonntag

Family sports festival on 15.09.24

Family sports festival of the Marzahn-Hellersdorf district sports association•Come along and join in!•Dance performances, soccer badge, table tennis, bouncy castle, various play stations, obstacle course for children, ice cream, catering•The

Skip to content

Finswimming

Finswimming

In diesem Beitrag lernt Ihr die Sportart Finswimming (Flossenschwimmen) kennen. Dabei handelt es sich um die schnellste Fortbewegungsart des Menschen (ohne Motor) im Wasser. Es wird nur die eigene Muskelkraft und eine Monoflosse zur Fortbewegung gebraucht. Dadurch ist der Vortrieb ca. 12-15 mal größer als beim klassischen Schwimmen. Die schnellsten Schwimmer können eine Spitzengeschwindigkeit von bis zu 3 Metern pro Sekunde erreichen.

Geschichte und Zukunft

Die Ursprünge des Finswimming sind in der konditionellen Ausbildung von Kampftauchern zu finden. Ende der 1960er- Jahre wurden die ersten Europameisterschaften ausgetragen. Hier wurden noch die verlängerten Stereoflossen verwendet, die auch die Kampftaucher benutzt haben. Ab der Europameisterschaft 1972 sind die ersten Sportler auch mit einer Monoflossen angetreten. Dadurch wurde die Kraulschwimmtechnik durch die schnellere und ästhetischere Delphinbewegung abgelöst.

Obwohl Finswimming vom IOC seit 1986 als olympische Disziplin anerkannt ist, wurde sie bisher noch nicht in das Programm der olympischen Spiele aufgenommen. Der geringe Bekanntheitsgrad wird einer der Gründe sein. Dennoch werden zahlreiche nationale und internationale Wettkämpfe ausgetragen. Gelingt es, die Bekanntheit der Sportart weiter zu steigern, sollte eine Aufnahme ins olympische Programm möglich sein.

Der Wettkampf

Es werden zwei verschiedene Disziplinen unterschieden. Unter Wasser werden 50m mit angehaltenem Atem getaucht. Der aktuelle Weltrekord liegt auf der Strecke bei 0:13,70 min. Die längeren Distanzen über 100m, 400m und 800m werden mit möglichst kleinen Pressluftflaschen absolviert.

An der Wasseroberfläche werden, wie im klassischen Schwimmen, Wettkämpfe über 50m, 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, und 1.500m ausgetragen. Die deutschen Finswimmer:innen sind im Verband Deutscher Sporttaucher e.V. organisiert und betreiben den Sport auf Amateurbasis. In anderen Nationen (Russland, Ukraine, China, Korea, Griechenland und Italien) ist Finswimming mittlerweile zu einem Profisport geworden. In den letzten 20-30 Jahren hat die Beliebtheit der Sportart stetig zugenommen. Mittlerweile wird in mehr als 40 Nationen weltweit Finswimming als Leistungssport betrieben.

Körperliche Anforderungen

Ein sehr hoher Kraftaufwand des Rumpfes und der Beine ist notwendig um die große Vortriebsfläche der Monoflosse dynamisch, rhythmisch und schnellkräftig zu bewegen. Das Erlernen der korrekten Delphinschwimmtechnik bedarf eines hohen koordinativen Vermögens. Zusätzlich müssen Schnorchel oder Drucklufttauchgeräte korrekt eingesetzt werden. Um Arm- und Körperbewegungen dynamisch zu halten, wird viel Kraft bei gleichzeitiger Flexibilität in Rumpf, Schultern und Armen benötigt. Hohe Belastungsanteile mit angehaltenem Atem bei gleichzeitig höchster Muskelarbeit setzt eine psychologische Anstrengungsbereitschaft bei den Sportler:innen voraus.

Nationale Erfolge und Rekorde

Bei der Sportehrung 2023 in Marzahn-Hellersdorf wurde Annett Lopez vom Tauchsportclub Marzahn e.V. in der Kategorie „Erwachsene“ ausgezeichnet. Sie gewann 2023 bei der Masters Weltmeisterschaft 2x Gold, 2x Silber und 1x Bronze.

Andere deutsche Finswimmer:innen sind ebenfalls international erfolgreich. Die Europarekorde der Damen über 800m und 1500m an der Wasseroberfläche hält Johanna Schikora vom Tauchclub fez e.V. aus Berlin. Die Europarekorde der Männer über 50m und 100m an der Wasseroberfläche sowie 100m unter Wasser stammen von Max Poschart vom SC DHfK Leipzig. Den Weltrekord der Männer über 200m unter Wasser hält Justus Mörstedt vom SC DHfK Leipzig.

Mehr bewegte News

Outreach Samstag Parcours

Outreach Samstag Parcours

Komm vorbei zum Outreach Samstag Parcours von 15-20 Uhr in der Kerschensteiner Schule in Berlin! • Entdecke die Welt von Parcours, Freerunning und Tricking in einer sicheren und unterstützenden Umgebung.

familiensportsonntage

Familiensportsonntage

Sport, Spiel und Spaß für Familien mit Kindern im Alter von 3 – 12 Jahren.•Ort:•Sporthalle Wolfgang-Amadeus-Mozart-Schule, Cottbusser Straße 23-25, 12627 Berlin•(Der Eingang zur Sporthalle befindet sich gegenüber von der Senftenberger

Tischtennis Nachmittag

Tischtennis Nachmittag

Keine Vorkenntnisse erforderlich!Das Wichtigste: Spiellust und gute Laune mitbringen!Wann? dienstags 15.00 – 16.30 UhrTreffpunkt? An der Tischtennisplatte bei KarlHo (Nachbarschaftsprojekt „KarlHo“ – Karl-Holtz-Straße 18)Kinder unter 16 Jahren müssen in Begleitung

Familiensportfest

Familiensportfest am 15.09.24

Familiensportfest des Bezirkssportbund Marzahn-Hellersdorf•Kommt vorbei und macht mit!•Tanzauftritte, Fußballabzeichen, Tischtennis, Hüpfburg, verschieden Spielstationen, Parcour für Kinder, Eis, Catering•Die Spielaktonen sind kostenfrei•Datum: 15.09.24 – 10-16 Uhr•Wo: Sportplatz, Blumbergerdamm 300, 12679

Skip to content